• Welcome to my Kitchen!

    Like many Newfoundland kitchens, mine is full of great food and lively music. Come on in, browse around, drool over the recipes, and catch up with some local music. Welcome to my Kitchen!
  • Archives

Traditional Newfoundland Cherry Christmas Cake

This is a recipe for what I call a “non fruit cake” fruit cake. Not being a big fan of many light fruit cakes, this one seems to hit the right note with many people. This recipe has been kicking around my family since the late seventies, or early eighties. No one has complained yet!  

  

Cherry Christmas Cake 

8 oz. Cream Cheese (softened)

1 cup softened butter

1.5 cups sugar

4 eggs

1 ts baking powder

1/2 cup chopped almonds

1.5 ts almond extract

1 1/3  cups flour, for cake

2/3 cup flour, to roll cherries and nuts in

3/4 cup well drained marachino cherries

Preheat oven to 325 degrees.  

Cream butter, cream cheese, sugar and almond extract. Beat well. Add eggs, one at a time. Gradually add the 1.3 cups flour, along with baking powder. Coat cherries and nuts with remaining 2/3 cup flour. Add to cake mixture.

Bake at 325 degrees for 1 hour, or until toothpick inserted in center comes out clean.

9 Responses

  1. made this cake and delicious

  2. Thanks for posting this!
    I was looking for the recipe in my cookbooks , and could not find it !

  3. THANKS…ABSOLUTLEY LOVED IT…I MADE 3 OVER CHRISTMAS AND ATE THEM ALL…I MAY JUST MAKE ONE THIS WEEK!!!!!!!!

  4. What kind of pan?

  5. What size pan?

  6. This is the best Cherry Cake recipe ever!!! So glad I found it…it’s just like the one my mom always made for Christmas!

  7. Oh, a bundt pan is best but, any large square metal or glass baking dish will do :)

  8. Recipe is exactly what I was looking for! Have u ever tried making it in small, individual sizes? I have some really cute paper forms about the size of cupcake liners that I’d love to try out…

  9. i likeee do we slice the cherries in 1/2?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

