• Welcome to my Kitchen!

    Like many Newfoundland kitchens, mine is full of great food and lively music. Come on in, browse around, drool over the recipes, and catch up with some local music. Welcome to my Kitchen!
  • Archives

Paprika Chicken

OK, I have to admit that I stole this recipe. Yep, I did. See, my sister served this dish for a couple of years. And every time she did, she’d tell some harrowing story or another of near culinary disaster. Or how the demands of the recipe left her with almost no time to complete the dish. It was always something.

If it weren’t so darned delicious, it would almost not’ve been worth listening to her. If it wasn’t for the sinful goodness of this sauce, I’d almost have to feel bad for her slaving away in the kitchen. If it weren’t for the fact that I just didn’t feel guilty about that second serving, I’d almost tell her not to bother on my behalf. But it really was that sinful, that decadent, that downright YUM! that I could never bring myself to tell her not to make it, even though I’d skulk home at the end of the night, racked with guilt over her efforts. Not a bit guilty about that second helping, though. Not a chance.

But then, one very fateful day (for HER!!) I was helping her move. And helping pack her kitchen goods. And the cupboard that held her recipe books. And that little scrap of paper that fell to the floor. That little scrap of paper bearing the words “Paprika Chicken.” I know I should be ashamed. But I’m not. OK, so I am slightly ashamed. But after ten years of living with the guilt, this is my redemption. Share the recipe. Give it away. Take that stain from me. Please. Go forth and cook!

PAPRIKA CHICKEN

Paprika Chicken

Here’s what you will need:

4 chicken breast, sliced into thirds

1 medium onion, sliced thinly

2 stalks green onion, sliced

1/3 cup olive oil

2 cloves garlic, minced

2 cups sliced peppers

2 tbsp paprika

1.5  cups sour cream

salt and pepper, for seasoning

Preheat oven to 350.

Saute sliced onion until translucent, but not browned. Stir in garlic and cook for additional two minutes. Remove onions and garlic from pan.

Season chicken with salt and pepper. Heat the frying pan to high and add chicken, cooking two to three minutes on each side, or until nicely browned.

Transfer chicken to baking dish. Spinkle with half the paprika, and reserve the rest. Add olive oil, onion, garlic, green onion, and peppers and mix well. I usually use a bit more black pepper at this point. Whatever floats your boat, really. Cover and bake at 350, for twenty minutes.

After twenty minutes, remove from oven, add remaining paprika and mix well.  Return to oven, uncovered, and bake for additional 20 minutes.

After cook time is complete, transfer just the chicken to a serving plate, and transfer all the onions and peppers separately. Reserve pan drippings.

Using blender, stick blender (like I do) or food processor, blend sour cream with reserved cooked onions and peppers. Add two to three tablespoons of pan drippings and blend well. Serve sauce spooned over chicken.

I usually serve this with a Spanish style rice, or mashed potato when I’m looking for even more comfort. This sauce is divine, and stores well in the fridge for two to three days.

And the waves of guilt are slowly receding….

Leave a Reply

