• Welcome to my Kitchen!

    Like many Newfoundland kitchens, mine is full of great food and lively music. Come on in, browse around, drool over the recipes, and catch up with some local music. Welcome to my Kitchen!
  • Archives

Almond Snowballs

This is a recipe I tried for the first time this week, but also one I have already transferred over to my “keeper” file. It’s not my recipe, but rather one from last months issue of Chatelaine.  These are delicious, flaky, melt in your mouth shortbread type cookies. The ground almonds make them a little more decadent, and perhaps a little more holiday-ish. I used dark chocolate in the centers, and they were yummy. Next time, though, I am going to use some chocolate covered cherries I have. Can’t wait!

 

ALMOND SNOWBALLS

What you will need:

 

2 cups all-purpose flour

3/4 cup ground almonds

1/2 tsp salt

1 cup butter, softened

1 cup sifted icing sugar, divided

2 tsp vanilla

chocolate chunks, for centers

 

 

Preheat oven to 350.

In a medium bowl, combine flour, salt and ground almonds.

Using a large bowl, beat butter and 1/2 cup icing sugar until smooth and creamy. Beat in vanilla.

Using a wooden spoon, or electric mixer on low, gradually beat flour mixture together with butter mixture.

Scoop dough in tablespoon measures, flattening each ball of dough to a flatter disc shape. To add chocolate center, press a couple of chocolate chips or 1 chocolate chunk into center. Roll edges around chocolate, forming a one inch ball. Repeat until all dough is used.

Place cookies at least 1 inch apart on ungreased cookie sheet. Bake about 8 to 10 minutes, then remove cookies to rack for a five minute cool down. Place remaining 1/2 cup sifted icing sugar in bowl and gently roll each cookie ball in sugar until evenly coated. Let cool completely on wire rack.

This recipe claims to make 42 cookies, but using an exact 1 TBSP measure, I got 24 cookies. Your results may vary.

One Response

  1. These are very interesting things that you are writng. I am a big fan of Canada, its history, traditions, cuisine. I will definitely come back here to check what’s new. I try to spend every summer vacation in Canada (this is my fav Canada picture:
    http://www.odyssei.com/travel-gallery/94960.html. See you soon!

Leave a Reply

