• Welcome to my Kitchen!

    Like many Newfoundland kitchens, mine is full of great food and lively music. Come on in, browse around, drool over the recipes, and catch up with some local music. Welcome to my Kitchen!
  • Archives

Molasses Drop Cookies

Molasses. Mmmmm. A staple for baking, cooking and eating, molasses has been a part of Newfoundland culture forever. I think I ate molasses on everything as a kid; even on chicken. Nothing made me happier. These cookies just bring back all those childhood memories. And the aroma of molasses cookies baking is one of the happiest Christmas memories.

 

MOLASSES DROP COOKIES

What you will need:

3 1/2 cups all purpose flour

3/4 cup granulated sugar

1 tsp. ginger

1 tsp cinnamon

1/2 tsp salt

3/4 cup fancy molasses

3/4 cup butter, softened

1 egg

1 1/2 tsp baking soda

1/2 cup  hot coffee, or substitute hot milk, if you prefer

 

Preheat oven to 375. Grease cookie sheets.

In a large mixing bowl, combine the first eight ingredients. Stir baking soda into hot coffee (or milk). Add to other ingredients and mix dough until well blended.

Drop cookie dough by the tablespoon onto prepared cookie sheets. Bake at 375 for 10-12 minutes.

Makes about 5 dozen cookies.

4 Responses

  1. I LOVE molasses cookies and can’t wait to try this recipe!

  2. im from nfld , stephenville and i remember mom making mollasses cookies , i like to bake and im going to try this recipe. id like to start my own bakery some day its my dream. i love experimenting with recipes, you never know what you will get .

  3. my grandma make cookies with Molasses in them i love it

  4. Hey There. I found your blog the usage of msn. This is a really smartly written article. I’ll make sure to bookmark it and return to learn extra of your useful info. Thank you for the post. I’ll certainly comeback.

Leave a Reply

